Photo

Fastest way to drive a Kart?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Admiral

Admiral

• 59 posts

Posted 23 November 1999 - 13:42

Very simple question. What is the best technique for driving a Kart? I used to beat my friends when we occasionally go indoor karting, but they have caught up, and I sometimes get beaten and I hate it! :)
The way I drive is pretty much like a road car. I try to brake to the apex and accelerate out, while taking a conventional racing line. I only go maybe twice a year, so my Karting experience is extremely limited. I know that there's a particular technique for Karting, but I just don't know what it is. Can anyone help me out?

Advertisement

#2 IndyIan

IndyIan

• 159 posts

Posted 24 November 1999 - 03:44

Admiral,
I don't race karts so I'm no expert. I assume you're driving the rental karts(5hp)
What I do is try to be as smooth as possible, nothing sudden to lose your speed. Also I do all my braking before the corner so i can use all the traction just for turning so I can have a maximum velocity as I leave the corner. Hope this helps :)

#3 Admiral

Admiral

• 59 posts

Posted 24 November 1999 - 14:37

Thats pretty much what I aim to do. I try to be smooth all the time, and get my braking done before the apex. Throughout the whole corner, I'm trying to make sure that the Kart doesn't slide much so as not to lose too much speed, but my method still seems slow. When I see a race on TV, they seem to snap the car into the corner, and they don't seem to brake much either, they turn using the trottle. But when I try this, the thing just gets sideways and bogs down. But thanks anyway IndyIan :)

#4 Mellon

Mellon

• 721 posts

Posted 25 November 1999 - 02:50

I've only driven once but what I found useful was trying to follow another driver around the track to see where I was slower and to learn the right lines through the curves.