Photo

Have you ever had an unexpected motorsport chat in daily life?

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 mariner

mariner

• 2,291 posts

Posted 26 September 2023 - 08:39

It has happened to me twice, once on Sunday so I wondered if other people have had their ordinary days brightened by an unexpected racing chat.

When I was a consultant a client group came to meet us and , of course, business cards were exchanged at the start. One card had the name Tojeiro on it and I mentioned to the woman that a well-known sports car designee had that name "yes" she said " John is my uncle".

On Sunday we went to Sywell, which I would thoroughly recommend, and shared a table out of the rain with a lady who was obviously Australian. I politely asked what brought her from Western Australia  to Sywell and her reply " my husband is running a car here - one of Alan Jones's Williams”? 

When she asked do you have a car I had to reply " yes but sadly not an F1 car"

I wonder if other TNF's have had similar unexpected chats?

Advertisement

#2 flatlandsman

flatlandsman

• 539 posts

Posted 26 September 2023 - 08:49

Long time ago was on a dating site and started chatting to a young nurse.

Found out a little later on her name was Ramirez

I casually mentioned I watch racing and knew of a senior guy at McLaren named Jo,

Yes he is my Dad!

mic drop.  We never met sadly. 

#3 Gabrci

Gabrci

• 640 posts

Posted 26 September 2023 - 08:58

I'm really sorry to say that Jo Ramirez's daughter has sadly passed away since. 

#4 flatlandsman

flatlandsman

• 539 posts

Posted 26 September 2023 - 09:39

Oh no, that is very very sad, she was a lovely person to talk to. 

#5 GreenMachine

GreenMachine

• 2,538 posts

Posted 26 September 2023 - 09:42